What the Little Engine Teaches!

DSN9164-2-MOne of my wife’s favorite children’s books is, The Little Engine That Could. You know the story; the little train engine was faced with a log steep hill and needed to get over it. The engine keeps telling himself, “I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…” Then he does!

It is a great story about self-confidence, believing in yourself, and giving it all you’ve got. Of course leaders have these qualities. But great leaders go a step beyond. It’s a wonderful thing to have belief and the confidence in yourself to do more than expected. But great leaders have that and a belief in others.

One secret to great leadership is developing leaders. It’s more than just thinking you can, it’s developing that same attitude in others. It’s a great to say, “I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…” But is it better to say, “I know you can, I know you can, I know you can…”

At the end of the children’s book the little engine that could did. Then he proclaimed, “I knew I could”! But great leaders get a deeper satisfaction from teaching others to believe in themselves. Great leaders take people from hearing, “I know you can, I know you can, I know you can…” to “Congratulations, you did it! I knew you could”!

Points to Ponder –
Are you inspiring to others? Do you cultivate an attitude that motivates others? How would others describe your ability to inspire action?

How important is the; “I think I can” attitude to you?

Copyright 2014 LeadersBridge

This entry was posted in Leadership, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What the Little Engine Teaches!

Leave a Reply

