Do the Right Thing

DSN9164-2-MAt a gathering of men a few years ago we were discussing out parenting. We each were asked to narrow down one to one thing we learned from our fathers. For each of us it was not easy. There are so many lessons learned from dads.

After much thought and much discussion, I narrowed my response down to one thing… Dad taught me that there is never a right time to do the wrong thing or a wrong time to do the right thing. Dad taught me that self-control and integrity are of the utmost importance. The wrong thing is always the wrong thing – don’t make excuses or allowances. The right thing is always the right thing – do it.

We’ll bury dad this afternoon. But the light of the truth he taught me and displayed throughout his life will continue to shine. I pray I might be worthy to be remembered for the same thing.

My dad taught me the most important part of leadership, leading yourself.

Copyright 2013 LeadersBridge

This entry was posted in Leadership, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

