The Right Thing

I was looking through a list of movies and I came across the title: DSN9164-2-MDo the Right Thing.  I remember seeing the movie.  It had been recommended to my wife and I as a great movie.  When it came out on video we rented it and suffered through it.  We didn’t really enjoy it.  I suppose I didn’t get it.  I’ve never had it explained to me so I still don’t get it.  After watching it, my wife and I were curious as why it was entitled Do the Right Thing.  By our estimation, no one in the movie did the right thing.  Over and over again people are in situations to make decisions.  Over and over again, they make the wrong decision and ‘do the wrong thing’.

Maybe I’m not remembering the movie well or maybe when watching it, we missed something.  We couldn’t recommend the movie.  We had no interest in exposing ourselves to it again to see what we missed.  It was over – gladly.

When faced with decisions, leaders choose to do the right thing.  It may not be the easiest, the most expedient, the most… (choose whatever word you want to fit).  But the best decision will always be to do the right thing.  The ‘rightness’ is based on right and wrong (ethics, morality and personal values).  Leaders ask questions like: what is best for all involved, what is fair to everyone concerned and what’s a win-win in every circumstance.

Points to Ponder –

What does it mean to do the right thing?

When it comes to making decisions, do you thoughtfully contemplate or react according to your gut feelings?  What are the benefits and drawbacks of each way?

Copyright 2013

This entry was posted in Leadership, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Right Thing

  1. Good thoughts, Craig.

    Our “gut feeling” is usually correct.

    Fred

  2. I never saw the movie, but interestingly I was browsing RoberEbert.com to look at some movie reviews and he had placed it in his “Great Movies” list under comedy. I believe doing the right thing is less situational and more moral. A lot of people believe the concept of morality is less relevant today. I disagree. No matter your faith or lack there of in most cases there is a “right” and a “wrong,” regardless of the circumstances. I found a number of years ago that every major religion (including Humanism) has some form of the Golden Rule. When people consider a higher power (again including humanity) they incorporate a “golden rule” in their faith system.

Leave a Reply

