“CTV” Leadership

DSN9164-2-MWhat a flight!  Not long after take off, it was clear the woman behind me in the window seat was not feeling well.  When the woman in the aisle seat in front of me found out the woman two rows behind her was sick, she started feeling queasy.

Having been a pastor I’ve officiated many weddings.  One of my compatibility tests for prospective couples was the ’CTV’ Test’.  Simply stated, and rather offensively means. ’Clean The Vomit Test’.  It means: if you are compatible, one of you has to be able to clean up vomit when either of you gets sick.  I realized this from my own experience.  My wife could.  I couldn’t   So, as a couple we passed the test.  It has worked for over 37 years.  We are fine.  When either of us or one of the kids got sick, (or any other scenario); if there was vomiting involved, my wife could clean it up.  I can handle anything else, but that is my weak point.

When the woman behind me needed another paper bag and the women in front also asked for one.  I was sure I would be next.  The salvation was the flight attendant.  She handled all of the passengers in her charge with grace and charm.  She never showed frustration, she didn’t display displeasure.  She was there helping these individuals while serving everyone else.  She comforted those individuals who were nauseated, making sure they were doing fine.  Everyone watching the situation was impressed. They commented on how well she handled her responsibilities, along with the demands of two sick flyers.  She accomplished it without the slightest sign of displeasure or stress.  It was quite remarkable. I was so enamored that I didn’t think about the illnesses.

A true sign of leadership is how pressure is handled.  The abnormal that brings out true leadership.  It’s a common saying and it’s true of leadership.  Leadership is like a teabag: you don’t know what you’ve got until you drop it in hot water.  Under pressure, leaders are formed and leadership will ultimately be displayed.  A true leader must keep their wits, keep to the task, and inspire others.  This flight attendant had it down.

Points to Ponder –

Am I unflappable under pressure?

The last time a surprise came up, how did I handle it? Did I remain in control and act with confidence and poise?  Did I react to the pressure of the moment?

Do I make good choices and maintain composure under pressure?  How do others see me?

 

Copyright 1013

This entry was posted in Leadership, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “CTV” Leadership

  1. Stress and pressure in difficult situations peal back the veneer and allows a leader’s true character to come out. When a leader starts yelling, “Get out of the way. That’s my seat on the lifeboat.”, it becomes clear what he/she thinks about the team. The leader that trusts his/her team can face the crises with a calm certitude, knowing they will figure out a solution.

Leave a Reply

